Paavo Järvi and the Estonian Festival Orchestra’s album “Estonian Premieres” has been named Classical Album of the Year at the 2023 Estonian Music Awards.

Featuring works by five Estonian composers, the EFO’s third album on Alpha Classics showcases the rich and vibrant talent of Estonian composers. The recording is the result of a long term commitment and passion by Paavo’s Järvi, who regularly champions Estonian composers both at home and abroad.

Tõnu Kõrvits’s “To the Moonlight” (2020), Ülo Krigul’s “Chordae” (2013) and “The Bow” (2021), Helena Tulve’s “L’ombre derrière toi” (2011) and Tauno Aints’s Overture “Estonia” (2014) were all performed and recorded at the Pärnu Music Festival. Also featured on the album is Lepo Sumera’s “Olympic Music I” (1980).